The BFG (2016)

Sophie: What’s in those jars? 
The BFG: Dreams. 
Sophie: Dreams aren’t things! 
The BFG: Is that right?

Okay I ashamed of this but I am not afraid to admit it: I have barely seen any of Steven Spielberg’s movies. I have only seen E.T., the Indiana Jones movies, Jurassic Park, and Saving Private Ryan. But what I do remember about his films is how moving they are and how my eyes were stuck on the screen when they are playing and that doesn’t stop with The BFG. 

thumbnail_24205

The BFG is based on the novel by Roald Dahl, which is about an orphan girl befriends an elderly giant and accompanies him on an adventure in Giant country that involves stopping the man eating Giants starring Mark Rylance, Ruby Barnhill, Rebecca Hall, and Bill Hader. I came into the movie without knowing a single detail from the book and from only seeing the first trailer. Now let me break down my thoughts with I believed were positives about the movies and the negatives. Let’s start off with the negatives which isn’t really much.

2_bfg-girl

Negatives: There isn’t a lot of bad things I took from the BFG. There’s a few scenes where I did feel like it dragged on and since not knowing anything about the book, I was lost at times but that didn’t change my overall feeling of the movie. The acting was a bit dull as well.

hero_the-bfg-2016

Positives: The special effects were breathtaking, from the BFG to the dreams he would capture. The BFG and Sophie are such lovable characters, love their scenes together especially when he would try to protect her from the evil man eating Giants. It also has a lot of the Steven Spielberg themes that you would see in his film that fans will love like: the music of John Williams, multiple window shots, daddy issues (Sophie is an orphan and her parents are dead), streams of light, etc.

Overall, I enjoyed this movie a lot. It brought me into this world of fantasy and I felt like a kid again.

SuperSam Rating: B-.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

