The J.J. Abrams Star Trek Trilogy

When I was younger, I truly never understood the love that people had for Star Trek series and films, I just could never get into it. I was always pushed to see one of the episodes or films but it never caught my attention. It wasn’t until J.J. Abrams got his hands on this series. My views on science fiction changed for the better. I am a huge fan of Star Wars films, till this day I truly love them with all my heart but, what I got from the Star Trek movies was something different and unique.

The film stars Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Eric Bana, Zoe Saldana, Karl Urban, Simon Pegg, John Cho, Anton Yelchin (R.I.P), and Leonard Nimoy (R.I.P). I believe what essentially makes this film so outstanding is how easy everything flows together for a non-star trek fan like myself. In the first act, we see a balance between James Kirk and Spock, we see a young Kirk and a young Spock, two different sides of the same coin. Both men are trying to escape from their family’s legacies (Kirk with his father being a hero & Spock deciding to go against Vulcan Science Academy) and when they finally meet after Kirk is accused of cheating by Spock, at that moment, they don’t know how much they would need each other. Besides, the brilliant chemistry between Kirk and Spock, the rest of the cast shines as well. From the biggest characters to the smallest, each character brings something to this film, some of my favorites besides Spock and Kirk were Bones (Karl Urban) and Scotty (Simon Pegg). I believe that this cast is one of the best in any film. Now, we can’t talk about Star Trek without discussing the beautiful effects used in the film. The CGI is a character in its own right, it is truly an amazing feature for this film. It’s visually breathtaking and for some odd reasoning, I find that Abrams’s signature lens flare adds a sort of realism into the film. That’s how I would picture space, with stars shinning and glaring through the horizon. My only problem was Nero, a villain with an interesting back story but a boring character that isn’t fleshed out enough. I found Star Trek (2009) to be almost perfect, giving it out 9 out of 10. Unlike the mediocre villain, the sequel to this film had anything but. Now we are beamed to Star Trek Into Darkness.

The chemistry of the cast is outstanding as always but what stands out the most is the spectacular acting of Benedict Cumberbatch as Khan. Khan is by far the best villain in this trilogy. His moment with Kirk and Spock in the jail is full of emotion and the score just brings it up a notch. Khan is definitely one of top villains this generation. My only concern from this film is the third act. I felt it was rushed and it didn’t allow the death of Kirk to really sink in. Besides the third act, Star Trek Into Darkness is a strong 9.5 out of 10, it was my favorite in the trilogy until I saw Star Trek: Beyond.

Star Trek Beyond blew my expectations and my mind away. It was vastly different from the first two films but still had that JJ vibe. We finally have focus on the different members of the enterprise like Bones, Scotty, and Chekov. We see a different side of Spock and Bones’ relationship fold in the moments where they are together after the crash. We also meet new character in the series, Jaylen played by Sofia Boutella. She reminds me of a mixture of Drax from Guardians of the Galaxy and Rey from Star Wars: The Force Awakens. She’s smart, extremely skilled, and charming. I really hope she ends up in more Star Trek films down the line. Speaking of newcomers, we have the evil Krall. Krall, played by Idris Elba and by this time, you’re probably wondering what film Idris Elba hasn’t been in this year. Krall, once known as Captain Balthazar Edison, a former commander of the USS Franklin. Stranded on Altamid because of a wormhole, he becomes psychotic after they set up peace throughout the galaxy believing other alien races will always be potential threats. When he and his two remaining crew members try to expand their live span, they connect to the alien technology and become these aliens who vow revenge on the federation. Visually speaking, it’s the best one in the trilogy. The imagery is breathtaking, and I might have to watch this movie in 3D to truly grasp it all in. Star Trek Beyond is solid in all aspects with beautiful visuals and a fantastic cast, easily a 10 out of 10.

Overall, J.J. Abrams has created Star Trek films, established with an outstanding cast with fantastic chemistry and solid films for the hardcore Star Trek fans and causal fans like myself. This trilogy is one of the best trilogies in recent history and I can’t wait to see what it has in stored for the fourth film.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

