The Accountant (2016)

Warrior is one of my favorite movies of all time and when I saw that Gavin O’Connor was directing The Accountant, I had to check it out ! Here are my thoughts (MILD SPOILERS BELOW):

The Christian Wolff (Ben Affleck) is a mathematics intellectual with more affinity for numbers than people. Using a small-town CPA office as a cover, he makes his living as an accountant for dangerous criminal organizations. With Treasury agent Ray King (J.K. Simmons) tracking him down, Christian takes on a robotics company as a legitimate client. As Wolff gets closer to the truth about a discrepancy that involves millions of dollars, things get bad for Wolff and the people around him.

I really enjoyed this movie. Another fantastic performance from Affleck. It seems like Affleck studied the characteristics of someone with autism to perfection. He was able to portray the limited to no social skills and even the lack of eye contact so well. I was surprised he actually did accountancy. I thought it was some cute nickname and he was just an assassin, but no, balanced debits and credits and all that jazz. I love how Gavin O’Connor makes me very interested in the characters’ backstories and delivered it slowly throughout the movie. I think it was very well done and it’s one of my favorite things about this movie. This may be the only movie I’ve ever seen where siblings on a trajectory for a final death battle just end up talking it out and bonding, making plans to meet up next week. It is close to accurate to how two brothers that are very close would actually fight. Yes, Brax was mad at Christian but at the end of the day they have each others backs. One of my favourite parts of the film. BONUS POINTS: when Jon Bernthal busted out his signature “Shane” look around of disbelief from Walking Dead when he was finally reunited with his brother. Brought back some good memories. There’s also some really great dry humor throughout that cracked my fiancée and I up. For the most part, the action was well done and entertaining. I really liked seeing all the interesting things Affleck’s character collects in his mobile home. I was also glad that they didn’t shoehorn a romance into the movie, Wolff taking off with just a note seemed very in character for him.

Only main complaints had to do with the unnecessary FBI subplot, I didn’t think they enhanced the film and the unclear motives for the CEO guy. I kinda just ignore the FBI subplot because it’s just plain stupid and waters down the movie for me, but the thing I can’t get over is the reasoning for bringing in the accountant to look over the company’s money problem. The main villain played by John Lithgow even says something to the effect of “I don’t know why I even hired you!” Apparently, neither did the writers. The time spent with the detectives could have been spent to developed Jon Bernthal’s character which we barely see in the movie or show us some flashbacks on Wolff’s earlier days with other employees.

Regardless, The Accountant was a solid movie and further excites me for The Batman, as this was a Batman movie in all but name. Solid performances from everyone in the cast and an interesting plot with some great action scenes. Check it out this weekend!

SuperSam Rating: B+

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

